wbk Institute of Production Science

Janna Hofmann receives Südwestmetall Award

Once again, the wbk Institute for Production Technology was able to secure a sponsorship award from the employers' association Südwestmetall.

Special honor for Dr.-Ing. Janna Hofmann, senior engineer at the wbk Institute of Production Engineering at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT): The 30-year-old is one of nine young scientists from Baden-Württemberg who were awarded the sponsorship prize of the employers' association Südwestmetall at an online event in Stuttgart last week. Janna Hofmann received the award for her dissertation at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) on the topic of "Process modeling of five-axis needle winding for the implementation of a trajectory-based wire tension control". 

Her dissertation dealt with the automated manufacturing of distributed windings of electric motors for the application in battery electric vehicles. Until now, such windings could only be manufactured either manually or fully automatically at high tooling costs. In her doctoral thesis, Hofmann is developing for the first time a process that enables the windings to be manufactured automatically, even at relatively low tooling costs.

Südwestmetall has been recognizing outstanding achievements by young scientists at Baden-Württemberg's nine state universities with the sponsorship award for more than 30 years. In 2017, a young scientist from the wbk was already able to secure the prize, which is endowed with 5,000 euros. 

We congratulate the award winner! 

Read more: 

https://www.suedwestmetall.de/presse/pressemitteilungen/2021/04/suedwestmetall-vergibt-foerderpreise-an-nachwuchswissenschaftler-der-landesuniversitaeten

Award winner Dr.-Ing. Janna Hofmann, wbk

wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik

Janna Hofmann erhält Südwestmetall-Preis

Erneut konnte das wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik sich einen Förderpreis des Arbeitgeberverbandes Südwestmetall sichern.

Besondere Ehrung für Dr.-Ing. Janna Hofmann, Oberingenieurin am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT): Die 30-jährige ist eine von neun Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern aus Baden-Württemberg, denen in der letzten Woche bei einer Online-Veranstaltung in Stuttgart der Förderpreis des Arbeitgeberverbandes Südwestmetall verliehen wurde. Janna Hofmann erhielt die Auszeichnung für ihre Dissertation am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zum Thema „Prozessmodellierung des Fünf-Achs-Nadelwickelns zur Implementierung einer trajektorienbasierten Drahtzugkraftregelung“.

In ihrer Dissertation befasste sie sich mit der automatisierten Fertigung von verteilten Wicklungen von Elektromotoren für die Anwendung in batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugen. Bisher konnten solche Wicklungen entweder nur händisch oder mit hohen Werkzeugkosten vollautomatisch gefertigt werden. In ihrer Doktorarbeit entwickelt Hofmann erstmals ein Verfahren, die Wicklungen automatisch auch mit relativ geringen Werkzeugkosten fertigen zu können.

Mit dem Förderpreis würdigt Südwestmetall seit über 30 Jahren herausragende Leistungen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses an den neun baden-württembergischen Landesuniversitäten. Bereits 2017 konnte sich eine Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin des wbk den mit 5.000 Euro dotierten Preis sichern.

Wir gratulieren der Preisträgerin!

Mehr erfahren:

https://www.suedwestmetall.de/presse/pressemitteilungen/2021/04/suedwestmetall-vergibt-foerderpreise-an-nachwuchswissenschaftler-der-landesuniversitaeten

Preisträgerin Dr.-Ing. Janna Hofmann, wbk