wbk Institute of Production Science

After transport: Detecting defects and faults in products in time

Start-up originating at the wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik determines the degree of damage to products by sensors and can thus help to ensure that products are used for longer or replaced in time.

During transport it happens again and again that products are damaged unnoticed. The effects often only become noticeable much later, when the products are installed in other parts - for example in automobile production. Waiting for spare parts then can cost a lot of time and money. The start-up company SenseING - Sensor Technology, which originated at the wbk Institute for Production Technology at KIT, would like to bridge this gap with a specially developed modular sensor system.  

During transport, the sensor detects that an error has occurred - for example, cargo has fallen over or been knocked and the goods have been partially damaged. Depending on the specific requirements of the application, the sensors record various parameters such as temperature, humidity and pressure, magnetic fields, acceleration or rotation rate. The degree of damage can be read out with the appropriate software in order to take appropriate measures. Sven Kruse, co-founder and managing director of SenseING: "Currently, we are still defining the parameters that the sensors monitor ourselves. The goal is for each customer to put together the required components of his sensors individually and to be able to read out the results directly and in real time. The sensors are already independent of a power source, i.e. plug-and-play capable".

 

Board of the prototype

The board was developed by the scientists themselves. It is now also certified for aviation. The team was able to find out the stresses to which a coffee machine in an airplane or during the charging process is exposed. This is important to improve the life expectancy estimate, as the machines are certified for a defined lifetime. The prototype of the "sensor construction kit" is currently in the proof-of-concept phase.

The SenseING team is currently looking for industrial partners to test various use cases, for example in logistics, production and product development.

To the origin of SenseING:

Sven Kruse and Kiryl Deschuk participated together in the wbk Hackathon IoT in 2018 and also wrote their master theses on the topics of energy-autonomous measuring units at the wbk Institute for Production Technology. Their start-up has now grown to a team of four.

The SenseING team from left to right: Sven Kurse, Lucas Bader, Kiryl Deschuk, Ivo Frank

Further Information: https://www.senseing.de

Contakt:

Sven Kruse

Mail: sven.kruse∂senseing.de

Phone: 0176/958 071 35

wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik

Nach Transport: Defekte und Störungen an Produkten rechtzeitig erkennen

Start-up mit Ursprung am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik ermittelt Grad der Beschädigung an Produkten durch Sensor und kann so dazu beitragen, dass Produkte länger genutzt oder rechtzeitig ausgetauscht werden.

 

Beim Transport kommt es immer wieder vor, dass Produkte unbemerkt beschädigt werden. Die Auswirkungen werden oft viel später erst bemerkbar, wenn die Produkte in andere Teile verbaut werden – etwa in der Automobilproduktion. Dann auf Ersatzteile zu warten, kostet mitunter viel Zeit und Geld. Das Start-up SenseING - Sensor Technology, das am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik am KIT seinen Ursprung nahm, möchte diese Kluft mit einem eigens entwickelten Sensor-Baukastensystem überbrücken.

Der Sensor erfasst beim Transport, dass ein Fehler aufgetreten ist – beispielsweise ist Ladung umgefallen oder angestoßen und die Ware wurde teilweise beschädigt. Hierbei erfassen die Sensoren, abhängig vom konkreten Bedarf beim jeweiligen Einsatz, verschiedene Parameter wie etwa Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit und -druck, Magnetfelder, Beschleunigung oder Drehrate. Der Grad an Beschädigung lässt sich mit einer zugehörigen Software auslesen, um geeignete Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. Sven Kruse, Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer von SenseING: „Aktuell definieren wir selbst noch die Parameter, welche die Sensoren jeweils überwachen. Ziel ist es, dass jeder Kunde sich die benötigten Bausteine seiner Sensoren individuell zusammenstellt und die Ergebnisse direkt und in Echtzeit auslesen kann. Schon jetzt sind die Sensoren unabhängig von einer Stromquelle, also plug-and-play-fähig.“

Platine des Prototyps

Die Platine haben die Wissenschaftler selbst entwickelt. Sie ist jetzt auch zertifiziert für die Luftfahrt. Das Team konnte herausfinden, welchen Belastungen eine Kaffeemaschine in einem Flugzeug oder beim Ladevorgang ausgesetzt ist. Dies ist wichtig, um die Lebensdauerabschätzung zu verbessern, da die Maschinen auf eine definierte Lebensdauer zugelassen wird. Der Prototyp des „Sensorbaukastens“ befindet sich gerade in der Proof-of-Concept-Phase.

Das SenseING-Team sucht aktuell nach Industriepartnern, die verschiedene Anwendungsfälle testen, etwa in der Logistik, Produktion und Produktentwicklung. 

Zum Ursprung von SenseING:

Sven Kruse und Kiryl Deschuk nahmen 2018 zusammen am wbk Hackathon IoT teil und schrieben auch ihre Masterarbeiten zu den Themen energieautarker Messeinheiten am wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik. Ihr Start-Up ist mittlerweile zu einem vierköpfigen Team gewachsen.

Das SenseING-Team v.li.n.re.: Sven Kurse, Lucas Bader, Kiryl Deschuk, Ivo Frank

 

Mehr: https://www.senseing.de

Kontakt:

Sven Kruse

Mail: sven.kruse∂senseing.de

Telefon: 0176/958 071 35