Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

ProBat - Projecting quality-oriented, flexible battery production systems

Serial capable production technology for battery systems exists until now primarily in consumer applications (e.g. for laptop- and mobile batteries). Lithium ion batteries (hereinafter called Li-ion battery) for the automobile industry have to fulfil strict and extensive requirements particularly in regard to life expectancy, safety, reliability, number of cycles, efficiency and energy density. Therefore they require a most extensively different production system. The fulfillment of safety requirements in the operation of the vehicle requires strict tests and precautionary measures, which are not relevant in other applications because of low voltages.

Because of the very small numbers of automobile batteries until now the production technology is still in development. “The optimization of production technology for large-scale batteries will contribute significantly to the success of electric mobility, as the share of production costs is about 50 % of the manufacturing costs of the battery.” Existing plants often have a prototypical character and are not yet sufficient regarding to flexibility, reliability and availability. Suitable integrated quality assurance measures and corresponding norms and standards need to be developed in order to ensure efficient production as the basis for profitability. An essential requirement for production technology is the efficient adaption to rising as well as fluctuating numbers of units (scalability), to fulfil an expected high volatility turnover of different drive systems and a high dynamic export market. Additionally plants need to have the capability to react fast and efficient to technological development of batteries to enable a profitable production.

The aim is the reduction of rebuilding expenditures (investments and start-up durations) and scrap rate in the battery system assemblage. Therefore a planning tool for a flexible, automated production and an integrated quality assurance is developed. Based on different automation and process alternatives a simulation model of assembly is created. Furthermore an understanding for critical stages in the process and their parameters is worked out. Afterwards suitable in-process measurement and testing procedures for the series production are selected. Therefore practical tests take place for the validation of selection guides.


Simulation video

Startdate of project: 01.08.2012
Enddate of project: 31.07.2015

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

ProBat - Projektierung qualitätsorientierter, serienflexibler Batterieproduktionssysteme

Serientaugliche Produktionstechnik für Batteriesysteme existiert bisher primär im Consumer-Bereich (z.B. für Laptop- und Handyakkus). Lithium-Ionen-Batterien (im Folgenden kurz Li-Ionen-Batterien genannt) für automobile Anwendungen müssen strengen und umfangreichen Anforderungen besonders hinsichtlich Lebensdauer, Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit, Zyklenzahl, Leistungs- und Energiedichte genügen und erfordern daher auch ein weitestgehend anderes Produktionssystem. Die Erfüllung der Sicherheitsanforderungen im späteren Betrieb des Automobils verlangt strengste Tests und Schutzmaßnahmen, die in anderen Bereichen aufgrund der geringeren Spannungen nicht relevant sind.

Aufgrund der bisher sehr niedrigen Stückzahlen von automobilen Batterien fehlt es an ausgereifter Produktionstechnik. „Die Optimierung der Produktionstechnologie für die Großserien-Batterieproduktion wird bei einem Anteil der Fertigungskosten von ca. 50% an den Herstellkosten der Batterie maßgeblich zum Erfolg der Elektromobilität beitragen“. Bisherige Anlagen haben häufig prototypischen Charakter und sind bzgl. Flexibilität, Zuverlässigkeit und Verfügbarkeit noch nicht ausreichend. Geeignete integrierte Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen und die zugehörigen Standards und Normen sind zu entwickeln, um eine effiziente Produktion als Grundlage der Wirtschaftlichkeit und eines effizienten Anlaufs sicherstellen zu können. Durch eine zu erwartende hohe Volatilität des Absatzes unterschiedlicher Antriebssysteme und der hohen Dynamik auch auf Exportmärkten, ist eine wesentliche Anforderung an die Produktionstechnik die effiziente Anpassung an steigende, aber stark schwankende Stückzahlen (Skalierbarkeit). Zusätzlich müssen Anlagen in der Lage sein, auf technologische Weiterentwicklungen der Batterien schnell und effizient reagieren zu können, um eine wirtschaftliche Fertigung zu ermöglichen.

Das Vorhaben zielt auf die Reduktion von Umbauaufwendungen (Investitionen und Anlaufdauer) und Ausschuss in der Batteriesystemmontage ab. Dazu wird ein Planungstool für eine flexible, automatisierte Produktion und eine integrierte Qualitätssicherung entwickelt. Ausgehend von unterschiedlichen Automatisierungs- und Prozessalternativen wird ein Simulationsmodell der Montage erstellt. Des Weiteren wird ein Verständnis für die kritischen Prozessschritte und deren Parameter erarbeitet und anschließend geeignete in-process Mess- und Prüfverfahren für die Serienproduktion ausgewählt. Dazu finden praktische Versuche zur Validierung der Auswahlhilfen statt.

 

Simulations-Video

Projektstart: 01.08.2012
Projektende: 31.07.2015