Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Institute

 



The wbk (Institute of Production Science) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) with almost 100 employees is one of the largest institutes within the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.

The three departments Manufacturing and Material Engineering, Machines, Equipment and Process Automation and Production Systems, directed by Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Volker Schulze, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Fleischer and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza, focus on applied research, education and innovation in production science at the KIT.

Besides the research activities in the conventional areas of mechanical and plant engineering, wbk puts emphasis on developing production science for enabling technologies such as energy engineering, electric mobility and lightweight systems. On the one hand, the institute analyses how conventional production technologies and systems can be applied to new materials and on the other hand, it conducts research in up-scaling manufacturing processes and designing future factories and their networks.

With its modern and comprehensive equipment, the wbk offers its scientific staff as well as students excellent conditions for theoretical and experimental research work. In cooperation and joint projects with industrial partners, the wbk develops solutions for various topics in production engineering and, with a particular view on the future and works on methods and processes for the production of tomorrow.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Institut



Das wbk Institut für Produktionstechnik des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) ist mit seinen knapp 100 Mitarbeitern thematisch in der Fakultät für Maschinenbau angesiedelt.

Die drei Bereiche Fertigungs- und Werkstofftechnik, Maschinen, Anlagen und Prozessautomatisierung und Produktionssysteme, die von den Professoren Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Volker Schulze, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Fleischer und Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gisela Lanza geleitet werden, widmen sich der anwendungsnahen Forschung, der Lehre und Innovation im Bereich Produktionstechnik am KIT.

Neben den Forschungsaktivitäten in den klassischen Feldern des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus, setzt das wbk auf die Entwicklung der Produktionstechnik für Enabling Technologies, wie beispielsweise für die Energietechnik, die Medizintechnik die Elektromobilität und bei Fotovoltaik. Hier wird zum einen untersucht, wie klassische Produktionstechnologien und -Systematiken auf neue Materialien und Werkstoffe übertragen werden können, zum anderen wird das Upscaling und die Gestaltung zukünftiger Fabrikwelten und deren Netzwerke erforscht.

Das wbk bietet wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern und Studierenden durch die moderne und umfangreiche Sachausstattung aus gezeichnete Rahmenbedingungen für theoretische und experimentelle Forschungsarbeiten mit dem Ziel, das integrative Verständnis von den Prozessen über die Anlagen und Automatisierung bis hin zu vernetzten Fabriken zu vermitteln.

Mit Industriepartnern erarbeitet das wbk in gemeinsamen Projekten Lösungen für vielfältige Themenstellungen der Produktionstechnik und entwickelt außerdem mit Blick in die Zukunft Methoden und Prozesse für die Produktion von morgen.